Events

Modest Mouse Announces Summer 2014 Tour Dates!!

modest_mouse

I think true musical love is finding love in a diverse spread of music. This isn’t to say that you have to like everything, but I would think constricting yourself to a single genre or style only inhibits your ability to find as much joy as possible in music. Why do I mention this? Well, as I’m sure you can tell from much of Funkadelphia’s content, we are big supporters of electronic music, jam, and hip-hop. However, my roots will always tie me to the indie kid I grew up as and the indie music I grew up on. This is something that I feel has been pushed to the side sometimes here on the website, but it’s also something I’m constantly working to improve.

All that out of the way, I’d like to indicate Modest Mouse as one of my biggest inspirations growing up. These guys have been slinging out genius record upon genius record for what is now approaching two decades. I have to admit a bit of disappointment seeing as we haven’t had any new material from the band (aside from a few new tracks they’ve played out at festivals and shows the passed few years) in 7 years now. Yet, this should be taken with a grain of salt, because it’s important to remember all the work and time that goes into a band recording an album, and these guys have been touring since they were but wee teenagers, so sure, they’re definitely deserving of a break.

There’s been plenty of rumors this year that we may finally be seeing a new record from Modest Mouse in 2014. You can bet my fingers are crossed. But for now, we’ll just have to enjoy these guys doing what they do best: rocking out live. I’ve had the pleasure of seeing Modest Mouse before, and they truly shine through in their live performances, bringing a certain energy that seems to be rare within the indie rock scene. So, I present, with pure glee, the newly announced Modest Mouse Summer Tour for 2014. While the band has no date scheduled for Philadelphia as of now, they will be performing at the ArtsQuest Center in Bethlehem, PA (just over an hour drive from Philly) on Wednesday, May 21st. Full tour dates below.

Modest Mouse Website // Facebook // Twitter

Modest Mouse Summer Tour 2014 Full Info/Purchase Tickets

*Tickets are currently not on sale for the May 21st (as well as their May 12th show in New Orleans), but you can bet we’ll get you that ticket link when it becomes available!

Screen Shot 2014-03-12 at 6.53.16 AM

Leave a Reply

